Acknowledging the land you play on

Recommendations for improving your gameplay experience.
kirrilyburnett

Acknowledging the land you play on

Post by kirrilyburnett »

Hello, I am so excited to play this game. I wanted to make a suggestion/ask a question.

I am a non Indigenous Australian. We have a custom in Australia which is to acknowledge the land we are gathering on. We do this for concerts and large gatherings but also I am a teacher and we do it each morning in class.
We acknowledge that we are learning on Ngunnawal country like people have for 10s of thousands of years.

I was thinking that no matter where I played Coyote And Crow I would maybe start like that too. What do you think of that idea?

"Today we play this game on Ngunnawal country. On land that the Ngunnawal people have played on and enjoyed for 10s of thousands of years. as we play today we acknowledge the elders past and present."

Written out this sounds formal but it is more like an honest grounding and respect rather then a memoriesed statement.
Dread Wolf

Re: Acknowledging the land you play on

Post by Dread Wolf »

Sounds like a good idea to me. I like it!
ModernAlchemy

Post by ModernAlchemy »

That is a fantastic custom. I absolutely agree, that's a great way to start a session, but it should be extended to other things, as well. Let's start a movement!
wickedlittlecritta

Post by wickedlittlecritta »

I've actually played a few indie ttrpgs that include guidelines for doing this in the playbooks! I would expect C&C's will have something similar as well. It's a very good practice imo, not only is it respectful it definitely sets a tone for the game.
SiSurgin

Post by SiSurgin »

This is a great idea, @kirrilyburnett. We have a similar tradition of making land acknowledgements here in Canada. Many also indicate which Indigenous group they belong to or - as is the case for myself - introduce ourselves as "Settlers".